top of page
  • Writer's pictureBritt Burke

Ten doughnut Tim bits (I mean tid bits) about me!

Doughnuts, coffee and beer? Oh my!


1. I grew up making doughnuts for community service hours with my church in Wallingford, CT. As part of our CCD program we'd make the batter, fry 'em up, package them and then sell them to our local parishioners.


To this day I stand by the fact that church doughnuts are the best doughnuts (plain and cinnamon sugar).


2. I went seven years without eating a doughnut, but broke my drought with a pumpkin doughnut from Neil's in Wallingford, CT. I look forward to those bad boys every fall, and paired with a brewed pumpkin iced coffee it's a damn near perfect post-workout snack!


3. Speaking of Neil's! They have the best doughnuts in CT (that I of course don't make). Seriously, blink and you'll miss his shop, but it's a local staple so do yourself a favor and turn around to wait in line.


4. My perfect doughnut is a chocolate lemon long john. Bright, tart lemon curd with a slightly bitter dark chocolate ganache? Hold me back or I'll eat a dozen.


5. Basically anything lemon and you have my attention.


6. Cake doughnuts are a hard sell for me because I find more often than not they just sit in your stomach, but I'm trying to change my own mind! Expect to find a lot of cake doughnut experiments here.


7. Donut adventures are my favorite past time. I've traveled to Rhode Island, NYC, Florida and Ireland for some crazy doughnuts, but I'd love to hear more suggestions. (Look for more posts about my adventures soon)


8. I've taken classes at the International Culinary Center in New York City -- in doughnut making, bagel making and pretzel making. Show me the dough!


9. I've tested A LOT of dough and have found I prefer making brioche doughnuts above everything else. Even my chocolate yeast dough is a chocolate brioche (yay food science!)


10. In my opinion, doughnuts with unique and impactful flavors triumph over doughnuts with five pounds of "extras" piled on top. (Flavorful baking always wins!)


11. I know I said 10, oh well! It's my dream to open Platform Doughnuts as a brick and mortar shop one day. That's why I'm doing all of this - to make my dream a reality.


12. I know, I know -- I like to take inspiration from pop culture and my childhood. Anyone else see the word "supernova" and start singing "My supernova girl," then thing, "zetus lapetus!" A Zenon doughnut needs to be made!


No? Just me? OK -- I guess I've found my calling.




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page