top of page
  • Writer's pictureBritt Burke

Game of Thrones Doughnuts - The Wall

"Now winter is truly coming. In the winter, we must protect ourselves. Look after one another." - Ned Stark


Stop me if you've heard this before, "winter is coming." The warning repeated by House Stark of Winterfell is synonymous with the #GameofThrones and its leading family. The threat of winter hung over the world for years, but guess what b*tches, WINTER IS FINALLY HERE. And by winter, I clearly mean the final season of #GoT.


I feel confident in saying I am not alone in my obsession with this series, clearly. And so as the April 14th premiere date neared I couldn't shake the idea of Game of Thrones themed doughnuts. I've seen it done for past seasons and I wanted to try it myself, but I want to take it a step further.


For the next six weeks I will create at least one Game of Thrones-centric doughnut to celebrate my favorite parts of one of my most obsessed-over shows. This was the vow I made a month ago and have been fixated at trying to come up with the best references and flavor nods ever since. Seriously, I have become nearly as obsessed with these doughnuts as I am with the show itself.


I don't want to reveal all six weeks in one post, so check back every week!


With that being said, my time is short as our fearless leaders don't have a lot of time before the Night King and the army of the undead attack Winterfell, so lets get to it!


First up: The Wall Doughnut

What is it? -- Chocolate cake doughnut, coconut cream icing, coconut snow and peppermint dragon glass (maybe Tormund would like to use this kind?)



I knew the first week had to involve the Wall after Season 7's epic ending and I kept envisioning blue shards of sugar (dragon glass) sticking out in the snow. Well, they came out better than I could have ever hoped!


This was my first attempt at chocolate cake doughnuts and I was terrified. I've had bad cake doughnut experiences in the past, and to be honest, they're not my favorite thing to eat, which is why I tend to shy away from them. However, I realize I don't make doughnuts just for my own consumption and I know people like cake doughnuts so here they are! (Recipe for a Le Cordon Bleu text book).


I added a bit of espresso powder to the existing recipe to heighten the chocolate flavor and balance out the sweetness of the coconut. I also opted to not toast my coconut to get the true white snow effect.


I'll just say this - I'd break through The Wall to get my hands on these doughnuts and I'd take on the Night King AND his ice dragon they're that good. (I also begged people to request them so I'd have more reason to make another batch).


I'd love to hear your thoughts! Whether it be on the doughnuts or what the heck the Night King wants (other than these doughnuts).


Next Up: The Starks!


4 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page