top of page
  • Writer's pictureBritt Burke

#GameofThrones Doughnuts: The Starks

"That f*cking family" - Sir Bronn


I'm writing this on Friday, though this whole week seemingly dragged, and I'll be honest, four podcasts, a rewatch and countless articles from The Ringer, and I am STILL not over the first episode of Season 8 in "Game of Thrones." So many theories, so many reunions, SO MANY BAD ASS ARYA MOMENTS. Even a quick glimpse of my all-time favorite show character ... the one and only Pod the Rod.


Through all of goings on, including JON RIDING A F*CKING DRAGON, it's clear that the episode was meant to be about Family, mainly, the Stark Family. I mean the episode was called "Winterfell" for crying out loud.


This all leads me to my second #GoT doughnut of the series: The Starks!


This was a rendition of a double whiskey doughnut I had made for St. Patrick's day (here). However, instead of chocolate yeast, I wanted to try my hand at a chocolate cake doughnut (they terrify me). Well, I don't know why I was so scared! Cake doughnuts are perfect if you're in a pinch due to the lack of yeast and I was happily surprised to find that my dough remained light - like the perfect yeast/cake dough combo.


I kept the toppings simple- a chocolate whiskey ganache using the special edition House Stark scotch, "Winter's Frost" from Dalwhinnie. The spicy notes of the scotch and a hint of honey paired well with the dark chocolate ganache and espresso undertones of the dough. The only change I would make would be to allow the ganache to set up longer so it iced thicker on the doughnut.


It was the perfect companion for my premiere viewing last weekend!


Next Up: Game of Thrones cookies and cream! (Thank you #oreo)



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page